raspberry cake

It’s so good you guys!!!  I saw the recipe in Sunset Magazine July 2012 – it looked so good and I knew that Zac wanted to go pick berries (randomly one of his favorite summer traditions – something about the harvest and working for your food).  So we had fresh raspberries (picked at Willamette Valley Fruit Co.), in fact we had 30 lbs. of blueberries and raspberries!  We freeze most of them individually on cookie sheets then bag them in gallon bags to munch on all summer (the intention is we munch on them all year, but they don’t ever last as long as we think they will).  Anyhow – back to the cake . . . have I mentioned it was good?  I even forgot the last step to dust it with powdered sugar – which makes everything better – but it was still sooooooo good.  Even super yummy a few days later.  Keeper.

I have to admit I’m definitely no baker – everything (which isn’t much) I learned from my friend Sarah who is amazing!!  SERIOUSLY.  AMAZING.

Thanks Sarah for being my baking inspiration!

9 thoughts on “raspberry cake

  1. It does indeed looks amazing! I went berry picking about two weeks ago at Sauvie Island Farms, and the strawberries were ripe then but not the raspberries. Maybe we’ll take a trip to get some berries and make this cake. Thanks for the recipe!

    • We found the raspberries last week and you’re right, there weren’t too many. But I bet after the warm weather this last week they’re just sitting there waiting for us 🙂 Have fun picking!

    • I bet it would be good with blackberries, marion berries or blueberries – depending on what you have! How fun – let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

